OC logo

Library

Skip to main content

HIST 219 - Deb Lamb - Winter 2011: Reference Sources

Native American history.

Print Reference Sources

Most libraries keep their hardcopy reference sources separate from their main collections.  In Haselwood Library on the Bremerton campus the Reference Collection is located next to the first floor reading room in the northeast corner of the building. 

 

Reference sources are designed for quick consultation, rather than cover-to-cover reading.  Reference works may give you an overview and introduction to your area of interest and my help you narrow down your topic.  They provide facts, statistics, and concise information about a particular topic.  They also provide background information – essential when you are new to a topic.  In addition, most reference sources will point to other sources of information.

 

Most of the reference books about Native Americans are in the Dewey history numbers 970.00497 to 970.4.  Listed below are some notable ones from those numbers as well as some from other areas.  Some of these titles are single volume and some are multi-volume. 

 

Bastille, Gretchen M. and Laurie Lisa, eds.  Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary.  New York: Routledge, 2001.  Print.  R920.7208997 Ba311n2

 

Crawford O'Brien, Suzanne J.  American Indian Religious Traditions: An EncyclopediaSanta Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2005.  Print.  R299.703 Cr859a

 

Curtis, Edward S.  The North American Indian: Being a Series of Volumes Picturing and Describing the Indians of the United States and Alaska.  New York: Johnson Reprint Corp., 1970.  Print.  R970.4 Cu942n

 

Davis, Mary B., ed.  Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia.  New York: Garland, 1994.  Print.  970.00497 Na213d

 

Fixico, Donald L., ed.  Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and Sovereignty.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2008.  Print.  R342.730872 Tr710f

 

Hirschfelder, Arlene B.  Encyclopedia of Native American Religions: An IntroductionNew York: Facts on File, 2000.  Print.  R299.703 Hi616e 2000

 

Johnson, Michael.  Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America.  Buffalo: Firefly Books, 2007.  Print.  R970.00497 Jo635e

 

Keoke, Emory Dean.  Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World: 15,000 Years of Inventions and Innovations.  New York: Facts on File, 2002.  Print.  R970.00497 Ke430e

 

Lyon, Williams S.  Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism: Sacred Ceremonies of North America.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1998.  Print.  R615.882 Ly995e

 

Malinowski, Sharon, ed.  Notable Native Americans.  New York: Gale Research, 1995.  Print.  R920.009297 No843m

 

Markowitz, Harvey, ed.  American Indian Biographies.  Pasadena: Salem Press, 1999.  Print.  920.009297 Am35m   (A 2005 edition of American Indian Biographies is an ebook and can be accessed through the Library Catalog.) 

  

Pevar, Stephen L.  The Rights of Indians and Tribes: The Authoritative ACLU Guide to Indian and Tribal Rights.  3rd ed.  Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2002.  Print.  R342.730872 Pe462r3

 

Pritzker, Barry M.  Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Peoples.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1998.  Print.  970.00497 Pr929n

Reddy, Marlita A., ed.  Statistical Record of Native North Americans.  Detroit: Gale Research, 1993.  Print.  R305.897 St29r

Sonneborn, Liz.  A to Z of American Indian Women.  Rev. ed.  New York: Facts on File, 2007.  Print.  R920.7208997 So59a

 

Sturtevant, William C., ed.  Handbook of North American Indians.  Washington: Smithsonian Institution, 1978-.  Print.  R970.4 Ha191s

 

Tiller, Veronica E. Velarde, ed.  Tiller’s Guide to Indian Country: Economic Profiles of American Indian Reservations.  Albuquerque: BowArrow Pub. Co., 2005.  Print.  R970.4 Ti463t

 

Wildenthal, Bryan H.  Native American Sovereignty on Trial: A Handbook with Cases, Laws, and Documents.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2003.  Print.  R342.730872 Wi645w

 

 

 

 

 

 

Electronic Reference Sources

Most reference databases are proprietary databases that libraries either own outright or have subscriptions to.  Access is limited to authorized users, i.e., patrons of the library that has the database.  While they share many attributes of print sources, such as content written by authorities in the field, they also have many features unique to the electronic environment.  These are audio and video clips, links to vetted Web sites, and sophisticated internal search engines.

Olympic College Library has available several electronic Reference Databases on their Web site in which you will find information on Native Americans. 

The American Indian Experience   
A collection of full-text reference works, monographs, and primary sources covering the history and culture of  indigenous populations.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
"Editor O'Brien (Seattle Univ.) provides readers with a "gender lens" on society, while emphasizing both individual and global aspects of social life."--Choice

Encyclopedia of Social Problems
More than 600 entries cover all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems and also provide insight into how social conditions get defined as social problems, and the ways different people and organizations view and try to solve them.

Historical Statistics of the United States
"The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history."
 
Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia 
Addresses nearly 170 timely American issues in breadth and detail, providing an introduction to the basic concepts, terminology, historical background, competing points of view, statistics, and research materials associated with each one.



OC Library Catalog