OC logo

Library

Skip to main content

For Faculty: Linking Directly to Articles

Overview

Overview

The library licenses dozens of academic databases, which allows all OC faculty and students to use proprietary works such as academic journal articles, for academic purposes, without worrying about violating copyright law or paying for individual licensing agreements.  Using these works in electronic or face-to-face classrooms is a great option to help provide students with Affordable Course Materials.

To successfully direct both on AND off campus students to specific articles/works in library databases, you will need to provide a "persistent" link to the article that is also run through the OC proxy server.  Persistent, proxied links are necessary because library subscription databases are only available off campus by logging in with an OC network username and password.

Ready-made links

Ready-made Persistent Proxied Links

The following vendors/databases already provide you with persistent proxied links to individual articles 

  • EBSCOhost databases (Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, Business Source Premier, etc.)
    • Select the title of the article to open the record. On the right, select the "Permalink" icon.  Cut and paste the link that is generated.  That's it, you're done!
  • ProQuest databases
    • Select the title of the article to open the record, and then select the "Abstract/Details" tab. Cut and paste the "Document URL" that is listed toward that bottom of the page. That's it, you're done!

The link will look similar to this: https://ezproxy.olympic.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/213207476?accountid=2203

Persistent Proxied Link Generator


Enter the Persistent URL of the article you found in a library database, then select "Generate!" Copy and paste the link that is generated into your Canvas classroom, email, etc., so that students can can access the article from both on and off campus.

Do-it-yourself Persistent Proxied Links

Many of the library's other databases provide a link somewhere in the record that is called a "persistent link," "stable URL," or "permalink."  If there is not such a link, the URL in the browser address bar may itself be a persistent link if it is relatively short and does not appear to contain any session information. 

Copy the link or URL and paste it into the "Persistent Proxied Link Generator" tool at the top right of this guide, and then click the "Generate!" button.  Copy the link that is generated and paste it into your Canvas course or email. 

Persistent & Proxied links in action (Portland State University Library)