OC logo

Library

Skip to main content

ENGL 101 - Hudson: Articles

Research help for your assignments

Historical Articles in JSTOR and CQ Researcher for Compare and Contrast Assignment

JSTOR is a good database for articles that were published at the time of Martin Luther King.  

(If you are off campus, enter your username and password to login to the database.)
To find older articles about Martin Luther King, for example, go to the Advanced Search Screen, type in his name, and limit the date range from 1960-1970. You can find scholarly articles like these (download to see the entire article):

CQ Researcher is a good database for articles that were published at the time of Martin Luther King. Type in "martin luther king" and then sort your results by "oldest."

(If you are off campus, enter your username and password to login to the database.)
Example articles in CQ Researcher: 

Current Articles in Academic Search Premier and Proquest

Academic Search Premier and Proquest are good databases for current articles in scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.

(If you are off campus, enter your username and password to login to the database.)
A good way to start a search is to go to the Advanced Search Screen of the database and try a "Title" keyword search.

Searching: Academic Search Premier Choose Databases

 

  •  
  •  
      
  •  
      

Or try putting both names in a basic search--"barack obama and martin luther king" to get articles like these (you can limit your results to "scholarly journals" or "magazines" or "newspapers"):

Resources for Borderlands Topic Assignment

Try using the "Advanced Search" screens of these databases. Here you can try "title" keyword searches or "subject" keyword searches to get the most relevant results. You can also limit to "full-text," "scholarly," etc. 

(If you are off campus, enter your username and password to login to the database.)