Below are some recommended books. Looking for more? Try one or two keywords in our library catalog:
Wiser: Getting beyond group think to to make groups smarter by 
Leading the Unleadable: how to manage mavericks, cynics, divas and other difficult people by 
The Collaborative Director: A Department-by-Department Guide to Filmmaking by 
Producing for film and television by 
Strategic Management and Leadership for Systems Development in Virtual Spaces by 
Creating High Performance Teams by 
The Ideal Team Player by 
Beating Burnout at Work: why teams hold the secret to well-being and resilience by 
Gentelligence : the revolutionary approach to leading an intergenerational workforce by 
Five Dysfunctions of a Team by This LibGuide offers resources and research strategies related to high-performing teams and filmmaking. To access electronic resources off campus, enter your student email address and password.
These databases include online encyclopedias and other reference sources which will provide you with definitions, statistics, and reliable background information. To access any electronic resources from off-campus, enter your student email address and password.
In-depth reports on current and controversial topics. Includes images, background information, pro/con, charts, and statistics.
Example full-text periodicals related to film production:
Journal of Film and Video, University Film and Video Association
Sight & Sound, British Film Institute
Relevant databases for both scholarly and trade periodicals:
Academic journals, trade magazines, and new sources across all business disciplines.
Extensive collection of journals, academic books, and academic encyclopedias in health/life sciences, physical sciences, and social/behavioral sciences.
Digitized back issues of academic journals, academic books, museum and archive images, and primary sources. Useful for research in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
As you are searching databases, you might try some of these keywords or phrases and then revise as you find relevant sources:
You may want to add words like:
Click on the linked titles below, then click on "full text availability" link to access (enter your student email and password if you are off campus).
Bogoni, Caio Augusto Camargo, and Renate B. Michel. “Interpersonal Relations as a Tool to Film Directing.” CINEJ Cinema Journal, vol. 7, no. 1, CINEJ Cinema Journal, 2018, pp. 91–115, https://doi.org/10.5195/CINEJ.2018.189.
Dooley, Kath, and Larissa Sexton-Finck. “A Focus on Collaboration : Fostering Australian Screen Production Students’ Teamwork Skills.” Journal of Teaching and Learning for Graduate Employability, vol. 8, no. 1, Deakin University, 2017, pp. 74–105, https://doi.org/10.21153/jtlge2017vol8no1art642.
Bakker, René M., et al. “It’s Only Temporary: Time Frame and the Dynamics of Creative Project Teams.” British Journal of Management, vol. 24, no. 3, Blackwell Publishing Ltd, 2013, pp. 383–97, https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1467-8551.2012.00810.x.
Nicola Abraham, and Jo James. “7 Angel of Love: The Story of Film-Making in an Acute Dialysis Unit in a Time of Covid-19.” BMJ Open Quality, vol. 10, no. Suppl 2, BMJ Publishing Group LTD, 2021, pp. A6–A7, https://doi.org/10.1136/bmjoq-2021-IHI.7.
Hodge, Carroll. “Film Collaboration and Creative Conflict.” Journal of Film and Video, vol. 61, no. 1, University Film and Video Association, 2009, pp. 18–30, https://doi.org/10.1353/jfv.0.0020.
Tinits, Peeter, and Oleg Sobchuk. “Open-Ended Cumulative Cultural Evolution of Hollywood Film Crews.” Evolutionary Human Sciences, vol. 2, Cambridge University Press, 2020, https://doi.org/10.1017/ehs.2020.21.
Ebbers, Joris J., and Nachoem M. Wijnberg. “Betwixt and Between: Role Conflict, Role Ambiguity and Role Definition in Project-Based Dual-Leadership Structures.” Human Relations (New York), vol. 70, no. 11, SAGE Publications, 2017, pp. 1342–65, https://doi.org/10.1177/0018726717692852.
Ellis, John. “Filming for Television: How a 16mm Film Crew Worked Together.” View (Utrecht), vol. 8, no. 15, Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision, 2019, pp. 91–110, https://doi.org/10.18146/2213-0969.2019.jethc167.
Philipsen, Heidi. “Scaffolded Filmmaking in PlayOFF: A Playground for Worldwide Film Experiments.” Seminar.net, vol. 8, no. 1, Lillehammer University College, 2012, https://doi.org/10.7577/seminar.2403.
Gibson, Cristina B., and Rebekah Dibble. “Excess May Do Harm: Investigating the Effect of Team External Environment on External Activities in Teams.” Organization Science (Providence, R.I.), vol. 24, no. 3, INFORMS, 2013, pp. 697–715, https://doi.org/10.1287/orsc.1120.0766.
Sabal, Rob. “The Individual in Collaborative Media Production.” Journal of Film and Video, vol. 61, no. 1, University Film and Video Association, 2009, pp. 6–17, https://doi.org/10.1353/jfv.0.0019.
Olympic College |
Privacy Policy
1600 Chester Ave. Bremerton WA 98312 | Information Desk: 360.475.7252
