"...supports education and research in cancer prevention, diagnosis, detection, and treatment. Its web page provides news, information on types of cancer, patient services, treatment options, sections on children with cancer and living with cancer, and cancer statistics."--MLA Users' Guide
The site contains basic information about diabetes, such as healthy living choices, insulin reactions, exercise, and diet. Other features include diabetes in the news, online shopping, ADA-sponsored events, and a section for health care professionals.--MLA Guide
"...a wealth of information for patients as well as health professionals. The site is attractive, easily navigated, and comprehensive. This site will prove indispensable for patients, students, and caregivers."--Choice
The site provides datasets of public data describing children's health and health services for children in the US. The Data Resource Center, a project of the Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI) at the Oregon Health and Science University, promotes data from the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, and the Center for Disease Control and Prevention's National Center for Health Statistics. The center analyzes, interprets, and presents public data by providing access to national, state, and regional data findings from large population-based surveys.--Choice
"Published by Environmental Health Sciences, a foundation-supported nonadvocacy organization, Environmental Health News (EHN) is a daily compilation of national and international English-language news about ecosystem, wildlife, and human environmental health."--Choice
"Global Library of Women's Medicine (GLOWM) is based on the six-volume Gynecology and Obstetrics series that was edited for many years by editor-in-chief Sciarra. The 442 chapters are organized into six main sections: "Gynecology"; "Obstetrics"; "Maternal and Fetal Medicine"; "Gynecologic Oncology"; "Reproductive Endocrinology, Infertility, and Genetics"; and "Fertility Regulation, Psychosomatic Problems, and Human Sexuality." Chapters are generally 3,000-10,000 words long, frequently include illustrations, and are written by experts from major medical centers in the US, UK, and other countries."--Choice.
"Experts of the Mayo Clinic offer extensive information on coronary artery disease, preventing heart disease, high blood pressure,circulatory problems, and methods of treatment and prevention. Selecting Heart & Blood Vessels under Condition Centers or Diseases & Conditions A-Z provides links to qualitative information and further links. The site fosters taking charge of one's health via scorecards, planners, etc."--MLA Guide
"Designed as a gateway to in-depth information about particular aspects of HIV/AIDS, it provides numerous links to many authoritative sources. Subjects are arranged into "Key Topics" and the site may also be searched by key words. Many items are provided in full text, and information is available in English and Spanish."--MLA Users' Guide
"...provides doctor-approved health information about children from before birth through adolescence. ... provides families with accurate, up-to-date, and jargon-free health information they can use."--MLA Users' Guide
"Editors of the site include more than 2,000 physicians, scientists, writers, and educators at the Mayo Clinic, a nonprofit institution with more than 100 years of history in patient care, medical research, and education. The website has added interactive tools to assist consumers in managing their health." --MLA Users' Guide
The goals of NAHIC are:
♦ to serve as a national resource for adolescent health information and research; and
♦ to assure the integration, synthesis, coordination and dissemination of adolescent health-related information.
"... a unique collection of state, local, and federal health resources for consumers. NOAH's mission is "to provide high-quality, full-text information for consumers that is accurate, timely, relevant, and unbiased." Information is arranged in alphabetical "Health Topics" which are then narrowed to include definitions, care and treatment, and lists of information resources. Information is available in both English and Spanish, and the majority of items are provided in full text."--MLA User's Guide
"RHIN is a national collaborative partnership that has created a database of quality multilingual, public health resources for those providing care to resettled refugees and asylees. Resources include: 1) Health education materials in various languages and formats (brochures, fact sheets, videos), and 2) Provider tools (including information on refugee populations and cultures)
The RHIN national partnership enables resettled refugees, asylees, their health care providers, and public health administrators to easily access information relevant to health conditions and health services." --RHIN