Business research is multi-faceted with information found in multiple types of sources.
Business magazines and financial newspapers supply general news and current events information.
Trade journals provide articles and data that are written by – and for – people within a particular field or industry.
Scholarly journals are written by experts and provide the highest level authoritative content.
Company profiles may be brief directory listings or detailed reports on the company's operations and financial performance. Industry profiles give insight into an industry, where it came from, and where it appears to be going.
Case studies provide intensive investigation of problem situations. Examples or types of case studies include: illustrative, exploratory, critical instance, program effects, prospective, cumulative, narrative and embedded.
Market research reports (or analyst reports) examine key indicators such as: market composition; projected market growth; top marketers and brands; competitive situation and profiles; new product trends; and consumers.
Business Source Complete and Proquest include many types of business sources.Try using the"Advanced Search" screens. That way, you can do title keyword searches orsubject keywordsearches to get more relevant results. You can limit your "document type" to "case study," "company profile," "industry report,"etc.
ProQuest databases are useful for researching topics in almost all areas of study, e.g. Business, Science, Social Sciences, and Humanities. Articles from ProQuest overlap some with EbscoHost, but ProQuest also provides unique content.
"...full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles." "...coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics."
This database includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics. With ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry users can study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals and many others.
Access Washington provides a state agency directory as well as links to local government agencies. This is a great site for doing business with the state. Use it for such things as starting a business, obtaining licenses and permits, and paying taxes. http://access.wa.gov/
Comprising over 11,000 news sources from around the world, this collection features 134 sources from Washington State alone, plus content from all 50 U.S. states, and over 170 countries and regions. The vast majority of sources are in English but at least 10 other languages are represented.
Through one seamless search experience, end users can also browse and search The Seattle Times Integrated Solution (1985 – present), consisting of full-color newspaper pages, individual full-text articles and content only published online. Access also includes NewsBank's Special Reports, Hot Topics, and America's News Magazines.
Access to this collection is available to Washington’s nonprofit public, academic, CTC (Community & Technical College), and public school libraries from September 1, 2018 through December 31, 2019. The cost for this content access is underwritten by the Washington State Library, using federal LSTA (Library Services and Technology Act) funds made available by IMLS (the Institute of Museum and Library Service).