OC logo
Libraries Home Start Researching Subject Guides Services About Us
Skip to Main Content

Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Content: Linking Back to Articles

Linking Directly to Articles in Library Databases

To successfully get back to an article later on, you will need to create links to the articles that run through the college's proxy server. If you do NOT do this, only on-campus students or teachers will be able to access the articles.

Each database is a little different, so see below for instructions. These links will also work for on campus students. Off campus students will be asked to enter their campus username and password (the same one they use for OC email/Canvas/etc.) to access the database/article.

Periodical Databases

Anthrosource

  1. From the results list, click on the title of the article.
  2. From the Abstract page, click on the link to "Full Access PDF"
  3. Copy and paste the URL from the full text PDF page.
  4. Add the proxy prefix: http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=
  5.  The final link will look something like this:
    http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1548-1425.2012.01383.x/pdf

CQ Researcher

  1. Look for the document URL at the bottom of the article you wish to link. A document URL will look like:
    http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/cqresrre2006102000
  2. Copy and paste the URL
  3. Add the proxy prefix: http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=
    in front of the document URL
  4. The final link will look something like this:  
    http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/cqresrre2006102000

EbscoHost databases (Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences, etc.)

  1. From the results page, click on the title of the article. 
  2. Select the "Permalink" icon on the right side menu of the page.
  3. Copy and paste the link that appears in the Permalink box.  It will look something like this:
    http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=47675715&site=ehost-live

JSTOR

  1. From the results page, click on the title of the article. 
  2. Copy  and paste the “Stable URL” to the right of the journal thumbnail,  which will look like:
    http://www.jstor.org/stable/2256913
  3. Add the proxy prefix to the front of the URL: http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=
  4. The final link will look something like this:
    http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/2256913 

Proquest databases (Proquest Research, ABI Trade & Inform, Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, Proquest Newspapers)

  1. From the results page, click on the link for "Abstract/Details." 
  2. Copy and paste the "Document URL" near the bottom of the citation information, that looks like this: http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/234227298?accountid=2203   

ScienceDirect

  1. From the results page, click on the title of the article.
  2. Copy the URL in the address bar and paste it to your document.  It should look like this: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1055790314002711
  3. Add the proxy prefix to the front of the URL: http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=
  4. The final link will look something like this:
    http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1055790314002711

Reference Databases

Credo Reference

  1. From the results page, click on the title of the article.
  2. Click on the "Email" button (unfortunately the "Permalink" button adds extra characters to the URL).
  3. Copy and paste the URL listed enter the entry title.  It should look like this: http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/hfcwd/wild_horse_festival_soma_nomaioi/0
  4. Add the proxy prefix to the front of the URL: http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=
  5. The final link will look something like this: 
    http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/hfcwd/wild_horse_festival_soma_nomaioi/0

Gale Virtual Reference Library

  1. From the results page, click on the title of the article.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the selected article
  3. Copy and paste the "URL," usually found after the bibliography and before "View other articles." The link should look like this: http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX1918700250&v=2.1&u=brem85675&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w&asid=28d61972d306ef7dfd909561436709b9   
  4. Add the proxy prefix to the front of the URL: http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=
  5. The final link will look something like this:
    http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX1918700250&v=2.1&u=brem85675&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w&asid=28d61972d306ef7dfd909561436709b9   

Sage Knowledge/CQ Press

  1. From the results page, click on the title of the article.
  2. Copy and paste the URL in the address bar.
  3. Add the proxy prefix to the front of the URL: http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=
  4. The final link will look something like this:
    http://ezproxy.olympic.edu:2048/login?url=http://knowledge.sagepub.com/view/greencities/n52.xml?rskey=RiGvIM&row=1