Research Guides: Accessibility: UDL Resources

Organizations' Websites

CAST (Center for Applied Special Technology)
An educational research organization, this is the best general website for UDL concepts and practical suggestions.
ACCESS to Postsecondary Education through UDL (Colorado State University)
Select the Universal Design for Learning tab. Includes a short video by students and faculty describing the benefits of UDL, several tutorials for Microsoft Word, PowerPoint and eText. The Resources section has a checklist, quick tips and the history and philosophy of UDL.
UDL in Higher Education from CAST
This section provides an overview of the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) framework and how it applies to higher education learning environments and additional resources for deeper understanding. It also offers practical information about getting started, case stories that are examples of courses and programs that use UDL to improve student success and links to some colleges and universities that have UDL initiatives.

College Websites

Clark College
Under " Integrating Equity Into Your Classroom" click on "Universal Design for Learning" The listed college and university websites cover a wide range of UDL topics.
Renton Tech
Cathy Jenner, UDL Project Coordinator at Renton Tech, has created a great website, with a Discussion board, Wiki, a UDL Strategies cookbook, professional development, audio & video clips, Manuals & Publications. Spend some time on this site, it's chock full of information.
The University of Washington
Definitions, principles, guidelines and examples by Sheryl Burgstahler for UDI, Universal Design of Instruction.

University of Washington's information page on Universal Design of Instruction.
The Center for Research on Developmental Education and Urban Literacy (CRDEUL) at the University of Minnesota eBook on Curriculum Transformation and Disability.
University of Minnesota's Pedagogy and Student Services for Institutional Transformation (PASSIT) book on Implementing Universal Design in Higher Education.
Rochester Institute of Technology Class-Act side on Universal Design
Universal Design for Instruction Fact Sheet from the University of Connecticut's Center on Post Secondary Education and Disability's FacultyWare program, which provides online resources on Universal Design.
Campus Technology article on University of Connecticut FacultyWare Program
Universal Design for Learning (UDL) is a framework for designing curricula that enable all individuals to gain knowledge, skills, and enthusiasm for learning
Renton Technical College's Universal Design Project site with manuals, publications, styles and a strategy cookbook

Books & eBooks at Haselwood Library

Click on the title to go to the Library catalog, where you can place a hold on a hard copy book or open an eBook.

Disability and Equity in Higher Education Accessibility by Henry C. Alphin (Editor); Jennie Lavine (Editor); Roy Y. Chan (Editor)
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 371.9/04740973
Publication Date: 2018
A comprehensive reference source for the latest scholarly material on emerging methods and trends in disseminating knowledge in higher education, despite traditional hindrances.
Improving Inclusive Education through Universal Design for Learning by Galkiene, Alvyra ; Monkeviciene, Ona
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021
This open access international scientific study provides an analysis of how the educational strategy of Universal Design for Learning can stimulate the process of inclusive education in different educational-cultural contexts and different areas of the educational system.
Inclusive Design for a Digital World by Regine Gilbert
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor 005.438 Gi376i
Publication Date: 2019
Transforming Higher Education Through Universal Design for Learning by Seán Bracken (Editor); Katie Novak (Editor)
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 371.9046 Tr687b
Publication Date: 2019
This book is a crucial read for those who want to make a positive difference in higher education provision and outcomes. of UDL and expertly maps its practices to the higher educational domain; explores the multiple means of representation, expression and engagement that combine to create a successful UDL framework.
Universal Design in Higher Education by Sheryl E. Burgstahler (Editor); Michael Young
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 371.9115 Un3b
Publication Date: 2015
As larger numbers of people with disabilities attend postsecondary educational institutions, there have been comparable greater efforts to make the full array of classes, services, and programs accessible to all students. This revised edition provides both a full survey of those measures and practical guidance for schools as they work to turn the goal of universal accessibility into a reality.