Research Guides: Surgical Technologist Research Guide: Background Information

Start you research with reference sources.

Reference sources, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. help you

Discover background information
Refine and narrow a research topic
Identify keywords that will help you search for other resources

Reference works are full of overview articles so they are perfect starting points for your research. Not only do you get authoritative content, you also get a recommended reading list which will lead you to other high-quality content.

A Sample of Background Sources from OC Libraries

Dictionary of Medical Terms by P.H. Collins
Call Number: eBook

Includes terms from British and international medical practice covering fields such as surgery, general practice, hospitals, clinics, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry and other specialisms. Also includes informal terms of the kind used between professionals or professionals and patients.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests by Deirdre S. Hiam
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2020

Provides in-depth coverage of over 650 surgical procedures. Each entry covers the definition of the surgical or medical procedure, purpose, demographic information, diagnosis and preparation, aftercare, risks, morbidity and mortality rates, alternatives, and more.
Key Concepts in Health Studies by Chris Yuill; Iain Crinson; Eilidh Duncan
Call Number: eBook

Key Concepts in Health Studies provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary 24th Edition by Donald Venes; F.A. Davis
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2021

Written by a team of expert consulting editors representing nearly every health care profession, the content reflects today's most current and relevant information.

Search the Library Catalog for Background Information

Find print and electronic encyclopedias in our collection by combining your topic keywords with the word "encyclopedia" in the search bar below. EXAMPLE: "conflict and encyclopedia" You might also try combining topic keywords with words like "handbook," "dictionary," "research guide," or "companion."

Open Web Background Sources

MedlinePlus
U.S. National Library of Medicine resources for patient education.
FastStats
Quick and easy access to statistics and reports on a variety of health topics.

Wikipedia for Academic/Health Research

An introduction to using Wikipedia for Academic Research.

Wikipedia should only be used as a preliminary step in finding better background resources but it can be very useful for locating keywords or key phases, notable researchers or authorities on your topic, and reliable, high-quality resources. Use the references at the end of the article to locate those sources.

Wikipedia is not an appropriate source for healthcare decisions.

Electronic Background Sources from the Library

ScienceDirect (eBook Collection)
ScienceDirect contain dozens of health-related encyclopedias, along with journal articles and books. Encyclopedias may be searched separately.
Credo Reference (eBook Collection)
This online reference library includes 100 subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries, many of which include topics in health and medicine