Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Companions - Philosophy - Research Guides at OC Libraries

Libraries Home Start Researching Subject Guides Services About Us

Ask a Librarian
Chat Email Phone

Skip to Main Content

Philosophy

Books, Articles, and Websites for Philosophy

Free Encyclopedias on the Web

Online Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Companions

Encyclopedia databases with philosophy coverage:
*Off-campus users enter your student email address and current password when prompted.

Britannica Academic
Because of the breadth of content, some students use Britannica as a one-stop destination for all their needs, especially for shorter assignments. Watch out for a European bias here, because some topics unique to the U.S. get ephemeral treatment.
Credo Reference
Credo has excellent coverage of full-text encyclopedias in the humanities.
previous link: https://search.credoreference.com/?aid=237820

Example online encyclopedias in the library catalog:

Encyclopedia of Ethics by Lawrence C. Becker (Editor); Charlotte B. Becker (Editor)
Call Number: eBook (and in print)
Publication Date: 2013
Ethics by John K. Roth (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005
The Blackwell Guide to Ethical Theory by Hugh LaFollette (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics by Ruth Chadwick (Editor); Dan Callahan (Editor); Peter Singer (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
A Companion to the Philosophers by Robert L. Arrington
Call Number: eBook
Includes authoritative coverage of the major Chinese, Indian, Japanese, African, Jewish, and Islamic philosophers.
Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Professor Edward Craig; Edward Craig
Publication Date: 2013
Dictionary of World Philosophy by A. Pablo Iannone
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of educational philosophy and theory by Peters, Michael
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
The Handy Western Philosophy Answer Book: The Ancient Greek Influence on Modern Understanding by Ed D'Angelo
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Philosophy: Technology by Anthony F. Beaavers
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
A History of Western Philosophy of Education by Megan Laverty
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2022
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: eBook (and in print)
Publication Date: 2005

Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Mathematics and Logic, the. the Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Mathematics of Logic by Stewart Shapiro
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005
The Palgrave Handbook of African Philosophy
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
The Routledge Companion to Philosophy and Music by Theodore Gracyk (Editor); Andrew Kania (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The Routledge companion to philosophy of science by Curd, Martin
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
The Routledge Companion to Twentieth Century Philosophy by Dermot Moran (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
A Companion to Continental Philosophy by Simon Critchley (Editor); William R. Schroeder (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
The Routledge Companion to Medieval Philosophy by Richard Cross (Editor); J. T. Paasch (Editor)
ISBN: 9780367562830
Publication Date: 2023
The Edinburgh Companion to Twentieth-Century Philosophies by Constantin V. Boundas; Constantin Boundas (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
A Companion to Art Theory by Paul Smith (Editor); Carolyn Wilde (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
A Companion to Epistemology by Jonathan Dancy (Editor); Ernest Sosa (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Feminist Philosophies A-Z by Nancy Arden McHugh
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Islamic Philosophy A-Z by Peter S. Groff
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007

Example Print Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: 103 En19e2
Publication Date: 2005
10 Volumes
International Encyclopedia of Ethics by Hugh LaFollette (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: 174.957 En19p
Publication Date: 2013
5 Volumes
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Ethics by Roger Crisp (Editor)
Call Number: 170.9 Ox2c
Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Aristotle by Christopher Shields (Editor)
Call Number: 185 Ar46s
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Handbook of World Philosophy by Jay L. Garfield (Editor); William Edelglass (Editor)
Call Number: 109 Ox2g
Publication Date: 2011
A Companion to Latin American Philosophy by Susana Nuccetelli (Editor); Ofelia Schutte (Editor); Otávio Bueno (Editor)
Call Number: 199.8 Co738n
Publication Date: 2013
A Companion to African-American Philosophy by Tommy L. Lott (Editor); John P. Pittman (Editor)
Call Number: 191.08996 Co738L
Publication Date: 2003-
The Cambridge Companion to Greek and Roman Philosophy by David Sedley (Editor)
Call Number: 180 Ca144s
Publication Date: 2003
The Routledge Companion to Epistemology by Sven Bernecker (Editor); Duncan Pritchard (Editor)
Call Number: 121 Ro765b
Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Companion to Existentialism by Steven Crowell (Editor)
Call Number: 142.78 Ca144c
Publication Date: 2012
The Blackwell Guide to Feminist Philosophy by Eva Feder Kittay (Editor); Linda Martín Alcoff (Editor)
Call Number: 305.4201 BL568a
Publication Date: 2006

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2024 12:39 PM
URL: https://libguides.olympic.edu/philosophy
Print Page

Subjects: Philosophy