Research Guides: Filmmaking: Films, Stock Footage, Scripts, Music

Feature Films in the Library

We offer streaming video via Swank and Films on Demand.

We also offer DVD and Blu Ray, featuring behind the scenes content whenever possible, especially commentary tracks. Some of these films are held behind the Check-out counter and are only available for a short-term check out, others are in our circulating media collection and can be browsed on the first floor of the library. All our DVD and Blu Ray titles are searchable in OneSearch.

Review this partial collection highlighting some of our Feature Films.

Stock Footage on the Web

Footage.net
Search and license from the world's leading stock footage collections
Brirish Pathè
Considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world, is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance.
Shutterstock
Licenses images, video, music, and editorial assets -- as well as custom content.
Pexels
Free stock videos
VideoHive
Over half a million stock footage clips, some royalty-free, and some low cost,
National Screening Room (Library of Congress)
The National Screening Room is designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide.
The majority of movies are freely available as both 5 mb MP4 and ProRes 422 MOV downloads. Be mindful of copyright restrictions.

Scripts on the Web

BBC Writer's Room
Downloadable scripts from a variety of BBC productions.
Internet Movie Script Database
The biggest collection of movie scripts available anywhere on the web.
The Script Source
Source for free scripts online, no longer updated.
Simply Scripts
A database of hundreds of scripts.
Springfield! Springfield!
A database containing thousands of TV show and movie scripts.
TV Writing
TV show scripts.

Stock Audio on the Web

Cullah
Free tracks under creative commons 4.0 licenses, requiring attribution and share alike.
dig.ccMixter
thousands of free to use tracks with handy search functions, including an instrumental filter, license type, genre, instrument, and style tags.
Free Music Archive
A large library of creative commons music, which is searchable by genre and license type.
Openverse
An extensive collection of open-source audio and images available for free use.
Pond5
From lo-fi archival music to classical songs, a wide variety of stock music.

Instructional Films/Documentaries in the Library

OC Libraries offer streaming documentaries available via Films on Demand as well as DVDs and BluRay.

Some of our documentary films are in the circulating collection and can be browsed on the first floor while others are held behind the Check-out counter (along with most of our filmmaking DVDs).

All our DVDs are searchable in our online catalog.