Research Guides: Economics: Finding Encyclopedias

Reference Databases

These databases include online encyclopedias and other reference sources which will provide you with definitions, statistics, and reliable background information. To access any electronic resources from off-campus, enter your student email address and password.

Business Source Complete
"...full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles." "...coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics."
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
In-depth, unbiased reports covering "...political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy."
Credo Reference
RECOMMENDED! A great place to start your research, Credo offers reference articles from scholarly encyclopedias including economics encyclopedias.
ScienceDirect
In addition to scholarly articles and books, ScienceDirect included excellent in-depth encyclopedia articles in the sciences and social sciences.

Example Reference Books

The Handbook of Historical Economics by Alberto Bisin (Editor); Giovanni Federico (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Green Economics by Sevil Acar (Editor); Erinç Yeldan (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of International Economics by Gita Gopinath (Volume Editor); Elhanan Helpman (Volume Editor); Kenneth Rogoff (Volume Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2022
Handbook of Behavioral Economics - Foundations and Applications 1 by B. Douglas Bernheim (Volume Editor); Stefano DellaVigna (Volume Editor); David Laibson (Volume Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics 2021: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data by Mary Meghan Ryan
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Rogue Money and the Underground Economy: An Encyclopedia of Alternative and Cryptocurrencies by Edmunds, John C.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020