Research Guides: Government Resources: Federal

General Sources - Federal

Federal datasets and websites have been removed in 2025. Please see the Archives & Alternatives to Removed Government Information page.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Lists and describes federal publications and provides links when available online.
GovInfo
free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government from U.S. Government Publishing Office

Science.gov
Authoritative scientific research results from U.S. federal agencies.

United States Government Manual
The handbook of the Federal Government

Executive Branch

The White House
"... the official home page of the current presidential administration. Visitors can access official press releases, weekly addresses, news about nominations and appointments, and presidential actions. The site also offers a history of the White House and presidents, links to other areas of government, and pages devoted to the president’s stance on various issues."

A variety of departments fall under the executive branch of the government, even though they may answer in part, and have their work directed by, the legislative branch. These departments include; Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Justice, Labor, State, Transportation, Veterans Affairs, Interior, and the Treasury.

Legislative Branch

Congress.gov
Find bills, resolutions, Congressional Records, calendars, committee information, treaties and more.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
In-depth reports on current and controversial topics. Includes images, background information, pro/con, charts, and statistics.

Congressional Research Service Reports
Succinct and well-reports written for Congressional Committees and members of Congress.

Judicial Branch

Federal Courts of the United States
This site is intended to help citizens learn more about the Judicial Branch and its work.
FindLaw
U.S. Supreme Court decisions in from 1760, in a searchable database.
Judicial Publications from GovInfo
Government documents collected by type.
Supreme Court of the United States
Online home of the U.S. Supreme Court

Federal Libraries

Library of Congress
The largest library in the world with extensive online resources available.
National Library of Medicine
The world's largest biomedical library supporting open data and health sciences informatics and research.

National Agricultural Library
One of five national libraries of the United States. It houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.
National Library of Education
The federal government's primary education information resource to the public, education community, and other government agencies.
National Transportation Library
Provides access to transportation-related research, reports, data, and reference services.