Research Guides: International Business: Library Databases & International Business Books

Welcome! Research in international business may involve consulting resources related to social customs, communication, political situations, religious beliefs (including for religious minorities), languages, ethics, values, laws and regulations, taxes, markets, technology, and environmental issues. The following books, eBooks, databases, and websites will help you get started! To access electronic library resources, use your student email and Canvas password.

Business Databases

Business research is multi-faceted with information found in multiple types of sources.

Business magazines and financial newspapers supply general news and current events information.
Trade journals provide articles and data that are written by – and for – people within a particular field or industry.
Scholarly journals are written by experts and provide the highest level authoritative content.
Company profiles may be brief directory listings or detailed reports on a company's operations and financial performance. Industry profiles give insight into an industry, where it came from, and where it appears to be going.
Market research reports (or analyst reports) examine key indicators such as: market composition; projected market growth; top marketers and brands; competitive situation and profiles; new product trends; and consumers.

Business Source Complete and Proquest (including ABI Inform) include many types of business sources. Try using the "Advanced Search" screens. That way, you can do title keyword searches or subject keyword searches to get more relevant results, and you can also limit "document type" by "company profile," "industry report," etc.

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
This database includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics. With ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry users can study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals and many others.
Business Source Complete
"...full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles." "...coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics."
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. Experience an easy-to-browse interface mapped to four key stages—plan, fund, start, and manage.
Subsidized by Washington State Library
Gale Business Insights: Global
Delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, useable context. This unique resource empowers users to not only research topics but also to interpret their research.
Subsidized by Washington State Library
ProQuest
ProQuest databases are useful for researching topics in almost all areas of study, e.g. Business, Science, Social Sciences, and Humanities. Articles from ProQuest overlap some with EbscoHost, but ProQuest also provides unique content.