Research Guides: Teaching at College- Andragogy and Pedagogy: Approaches to Teaching

Getting Started at Olympic College

The Information Technology Department (IT)

Podcasts

Teaching in Higher Ed

Woke Pedagogies: An Arts & Sciences Approach to Excellence in TeachingThe Ohio State University College of Arts & Sciences

S1/E3: Teaching Race While White – Part I

Pedagogical Approaches

These strategies focus on the meaning of learning materials and builds on past knowledge - students construct knowledge.

Examples or applications of constructivist ideas:

Inquiry based learning
Problem based learning
Integrative learning
Experiential learning

Active Learning by Magna Publications (Editor)
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor 378.125 Ac85w
Publication Date: 2017
Whether you are new to active learning or have some familiarity and want to sharpen your proficiency, you'll find knowledgeable, reliable answers in these pages.
Teaching at Its Best by Linda B. Nilson
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor 378.125 Ni599t
Publication Date: 2016
Teaching at Its Best is the bestselling, research-based toolbox for college instructors at any level, in any higher education setting. Packed with practical guidance, proven techniques, and expert perspectives, this book helps instructors improve student learning both face-to-face and online.
Teaching for Experiential Learning by Scott D. Wurdinger; Julie A. Carlson
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor 371.39 Wu963t
Publication Date: 2009
This book describes how to change the way in which educators conduct business in the classroom. Our current educational systems lack ways to reach today's learners in relevant, meaningful ways. The approaches in this book inspire and motivate students to learn.
Workforce education : a roadmap by Bonvillian, William
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0262361485
Publication Date: 2021
Describes innovative methods of workforce education that are being developed across the country.

AKA Social Constructivist Pedagogy

Students construct knowledge through interaction (with each other and instructors), and understanding is more complete when students work together, discuss topics together, and then work together to apply new information to ideas or concepts they've already learned- contextualizing the new knowledge.

Collaborative Learning Techniques by Barkley, E.; K. Cross, P.
Call Number: Haselwood Library - Main Collection - 2nd Floor 378.12 Ba246c
Publication Date: 2014
A guide to thirty-five creative assignments for pairs and groups. Collaborative Learning Techniques is the bestseller that college and university faculty around the world have used to help them make the most of small group learning.
Vygotsky's Developmental and Educational Psychology by Peter E. Langford
Call Number: eBook
Vygotsky is widely considered one of the most significant and influential psychologists of the twentieth century.
Teaching and Learning in 3D Immersive Worlds: Pedagogical Models and Constructivist Approaches by Cheney, A. (Editor); Sanders, R. (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Teaching and Learning in 3D Immersive Worlds: Pedagogical Models and Constructivist Approaches examines successful implementation of social constructivist instructional design tenets in 3D virtual immersive environments. Authors share best practices, challenges, and advice to those working to utilize virtual environments in higher education and other venues.

Reflection is an essential part of teaching strategy, first as an instructor practice, the instructor reflects on instruction. Teaching reflection can include journaling, video-recorded teaching practice for self-review, peer or mentor review of teaching, and formative assessments from students, using teaching inventories.

It can also involve students - asking students to reflect on learning, gaps in learning, strengths and areas of development, etc.

Teaching and Learning Through Reflective Practice by Tony Ghaye
Call Number: eBook
Seeing the teacher as a reflective learner, the book emphasizes a strengths-based approach in which positivity, resilience, optimism and high performance can help invigorate teaching, enhance learning and allow the teacher to reach their full potential. This approach busts the myth that reflection on problems and deficits is the only way to better performance.
Teaching Interculturally by Amy Lee; Peter Felten
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor 370.117 Le510t
Publication Date: 2017
This book provides faculty and instructors with a theoretical foundation, practical tools, and an iterative and reflective process for designing and implementing an intercultural pedagogy.
Examining and Facilitating Reflection to Improve Professional Practice by Harris, A.; Bruster, B.; Peterson, B.; Shutt, T.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Examining and Facilitating Reflection to Improve Professional Practice is specifically designed and organized to be used throughout a teacher-education program from an introductory foundations course, continuing through content-specific methods classes to graduate-level theory seminars, and, ultimately onto professional development workshops.
Contemplative Practices in Higher Education by Barbezat, D.; Bush, M.
Call Number: Haselwood Library - Main Collection - 2nd Floor 378.125 Ba233c
Publication Date: 2013
Contemplative pedagogy is a way for instructors to empower students to integrate their own experience into the theoretical material they are being taught in order to deepen their understanding; help students develop sophisticated problem-solving skills; support students' sense of connection to and compassion for others, and engender inquiries into students' most profound questions.

Peter McLaren- linking the micropolitical (daily life) to the macropolitical

Teaching Community by Bell Hooks
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor 370.115 Ho764tc
Combining critical thinking about education with autobiographical narratives, Hooks invites readers to extend the discourse of race, gender, class and nationality beyond the classroom into everyday situations of learning.
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paulo Freire
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor 370.115 Fr883p
The book is considered one of the foundational texts of critical pedagogy, and proposes a pedagogy with a new relationship between teacher, student, and society.
Feminist Pedagogy in Higher Education by Editors: Tracy P. Light; Jane Nicholas; Renée Bondy
Call Number: eBook
In this new collection, contributors from a variety of disciplines provide a critical context for the relationship between feminist pedagogy and academic feminism by exploring the complex ways that critical perspectives can be brought into the classroom.
Teaching Across Cultural Strengths by Alicia F. Chávez; Susan D. Longerbeam; Joseph L. White
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1620363259
This comprehensive guide addresses the continuing gaps in our knowledge about the role of culture in learning; and offers an empirically-based framework and model, together with practical strategies, to assist faculty in transforming college teaching for all their students through an understanding of and teaching to their strengths.
Teaching to Transgress by Bell Hooks
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor 370.115 Ho764t
ISBN: 0415908086
In Teaching to Transgress, Hooks writes about education as the practice of freedom. Teaching students to "transgress" against racial, sexual, and class boundaries to achieve the gift of freedom is, for Hooks, the teacher's most important goal.

Open pedagogy is a high-impact practice that that engages students as information creators, rather than information consumers. Students create content— assignments with a value that continues after their class ends.

"We might think about Open Pedagogy as an access-oriented commitment to learner-driven education AND as a process of designing architectures and using tools for learning that enable students to shape the public knowledge commons of which they are a part."

The Open Pedagogy Notebook

A Guide to Making Open Textbooks with Students
A handbook for faculty interested in practicing open pedagogy by involving students in the making of open textbooks, ancillary materials, or other Open Educational Resources.
Open Pedagogy from the OER Starter Kit
Academic freedom, free access to learning materials for students are both benefits of open pedagogy.
Accessibility from the OER & Open Pedagogy Community of Practice

Why pedagogy/andragogy matters

Curriculum refers to WHAT we teach, while pedagogy/andragogy refers to our approach, the philosophy behind HOW we teach it. This is deeply connected to what we believe about how learning works. Evidence-based pedagogy or andragogy calls for educators to consider emerging theories, technology, and evidence. Thoughtfully developing and improving our approach is one of the most effective ways we can improve the quality and impact of our instruction.

A great way to clearly encapsulate your pedagogy is to write a Teaching Statement. This is something you can choose to share with your students if you feel it would help them to understand your approach to teaching. The University of Iowa Office of Teaching, Learning & Technology offers a Teaching Goals Inventory which can help you capture your priorities and think about how you teach.

This page will offer a brief overview of many approaches and point you toward to resources to learn more. For simplicity's sake we will use the term pedagogy as an overarching descriptor.