Research Guides: MA Research Guide: Books

Books & eBooks in the Library

Remember you do not have to read an entire book to use it for research purposes. Use the index of a print book or Ctrl+F in an eBook to go directly to sections focused on your topic.

Use the search box below to look for books or scroll down to see highlights focused on medical assisting.

Books & eBooks

Bioethics: Principles. Issues, and Cases by Lewis Vaughn
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 174.2 Va465b
Publication Date: 2020
Philosophical, medical, social, and legal aspects of key bioethical issues. Opening with a thorough introduction to ethics, bioethics, and moral reasoning, it then covers influential moral theories and the criteria for evaluating them.
Jones and Bartlett Learning's Comprehensive Medical Assisting by Judy Kronenberger; Julie Ledbetter
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
An engaging, dynamic suite of learning resources designed to train medical assisting students in the administrative and clinical skills they'll need in today's rapidly changing health care environment.
McGraw Hill's Complete Medical Spanish, Premium Fourth Edition by Joanna Rios; José Fernández Torres; Tamara Ríos
Call Number: 468.3421 Ri479m
Publication Date: 2021
Learn to communicate directly with your Spanish-speaking patients, with the most comprehensive Spanish medical language guide available.
Medical Assistant Exam Prep by Kaplan
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 610.76 Me468k
Publication Date: 2022
Kaplan's Medical Assistant Exam Prep provides the in-depth content, comprehensive review, and targeted practice you need to pass the Certified Medical Assistant and Registered Medical Assistant exams.
Medical Assisting: Administrative and Clinical Procedures by Kathryn A. Booth; Leesa Whicker; Terri D. Wyman
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 610.7372 Bo644m
Publication Date: 2020
Today's medical assistants juggle many tasks in the medical office, and this book is a guide for them all— professionalism, legal and ethical issues, infection control, schedule management, coding, taking vitals, and more
Medical Assisting Review: Passing the CMA, RMA, and CCMA Exams by Jahangir Moini
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 610.737 Mo728m
Publication Date: 2022
Success has never been easier, with Moini's Medical Assisting Review: Passing The CMA, RMA, and CCMA Exams. Confidently master the competencies you need for certification with a user-friendly approach and a variety of practice exams.
Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT Coding by Celeste G. Kirschner
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 611 Ki639n
Publication Date: 2019
This unique resource pairs AMA CPT® codes and full descriptors with relevant anatomical illustrations created by famed medical illustrator and physician Frank Netter, MD, and others working in the Netter tradition.
Risk Adjustment Documentation and Coding by Sheri Poe Bernard
Call Number: 616.0012 Be456r
Publication Date: 2020
Meticulous diagnostic documentation and coding is key to accurate RA reporting. This book compiles and presents RA documentation and coding issues, guidance, along with federal resources.

eBook Collections

EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Over 16,000 e-books. Many are downloadable.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search dozens of encyclopedias from a variety of subject areas.
ProQuest eBook Central (Diversity, Equity and Inclusion eBooks)
Over 18,000 librarian-selected eBook titles covering Asian Studies, Women's Studies, Black Studies, Hispanic/Latino Studies and much more.
ScienceDirect Reference Books
Use this Advanced Search page to search just within ScienceDirect's hundreds of scholarly encyclopedias.