Research Guides: MA Research Guide: MEDA 112 Medical Law, Ethics, and Bioethics

Cultural Diversity Group Project/Presentation

The resources on this page highlight library and highly reliable open web resources to help you research your chosen culture for your presentation. If you have questions about research you can use the Chat | email | phone option in the header of this page, or come to the reference desk anytime the Haselwood Library is open. Questions about the assignment should be directed to your instructor.

Library Databases

Credo Reference
A collection of reference sources providing background information across many topics.
previous link: https://search.credoreference.com/?aid=237820
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Short reports on cultures in 187 countries. Includes simple overviews of diet, health, and much more.

Library Books & eBooks

American Indian Health and Nursing by Margaret P. Moss
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Addresses the historical and national impact of healthcare and nursing on the American Indian. Useful for anyone who wants to understand how healthcare is delivered to the American Indian populations.
Cross-Cultural Caring, 2nd Ed by Nancy Waxler-Morrison (Editor); Joan Anderson (Editor); Elizabeth Richardson (Editor); Natalie A. Chambers (Editor)
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 362.1089 Cr884w
This newly revised edition describes Vietnamese, Cambodian and Laotian, Chinese, Japanese, Iranian, South Asian, and Central American ethno-cultural groups.
Cultural Competence in Healthcare and Healthcare Education by Constantinou, Costas S (editor) Andreou, Panayiota (editor) Nikitara, Monica (editor) Papageorgiou, Alexia (editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2022
Cultural competence has been acknowledged as an important set of skills and mindset for working effectively with diverse patients and for reducing social disparities in healthcare.
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by Rachael Spector
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 362.10425 Sp31c
Publication Date: 2017
Promotes an awareness of the dimensions and complexities involved in caring for people from diverse cultural backgrounds. An essential for any health-care professional.
Deaf Culture by Leigh, I., Andrews, J. F., González Ávila, T., & Harris, R. L.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2022
A contemporary and vibrant Deaf culture is found within Deaf communities, including Deaf Persons of Color and those who are DeafDisabled and DeafBlind.
Ethnicity, Race, and Disease Sourcebook by Angela L. Williams (editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
"Offers basic consumer health information about ethnicity and race, along with social determinants of health across life stages, behavioral health equity, genetic conditions, physical activity, healthcare fraud, insurance and mental-health services.
Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care by Larry D. Purnell
Call Number: Reserves - Ask at Check-out Desk ; 362.1 Pu975g2
This concise, easy-to-read handbook tackles an often awkward subject in a direct, non-intimidating style.
Health and Health Care Concerns among Women and Racial and Ethnic Minorities by Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Topics covered include examination of health and health care issues of patients or of providers of care especially those related to concerns for women and for racial and ethnic minorities in different countries.
Mexican Americans and Health by Adela de la Torre; Antonio Estrada
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 362.1089 To635m
Publication Date: 2015
A timely and accessible description of the new U.S. Human Development Index to contextualize the health, education, and income status of Mexican Americans relative to other population groups, emerging diseases, such as diabetes and obesity, and more.
Person-Centered Communication with Older Adults by Timothy Storlie
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Advocates for an evidence-based, person-centered approach to communication to increase older adult satisfaction with provider services, enhance mutual respect and understanding, improve accuracy of information exchanged, increase compliance with provider recommendations, and reduce frustration and stress.
Transcultural Caring Dynamics in Nursing and Health Care by Marilyn A. Ray
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 610.73 Ra212t2
Publication Date: 2018
Marilyn Ray shows us how cultures influence one another through inter-cultural relationships, technology, globalization, and mass communication, and how these influences directly shape our cultural identities in today's world.

Open Web Resources

Case Studies in Culturally Appropriate Healthcare
A collection of case studies to consider/discuss in order to build competency, From the National Multicultural Center at Howard University College of Medicine.
Cultural Religious Competence In Clinical Practice from the National Library of Medicine
An overview of the importance of cultural and religious competence and an A-Z overview of many religions or spiritual practices.
EthnoMed
Information from Harborview Medical Center about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other topics related to the health care of immigrants to the U.S.
Improving Cultural Competence
A Treatment Improvement Protocol from SAMHSA (US Department of Health and Human Services) focused on behavioral health.
Minority Population Profiles
Profiles from the Office of Minority Health Resource Center, HHS
Think Cultural Health from the Office of Minority Health
Information supporting Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) From the US Department of Health and Human Services