Research Guides: ESOL: ESOL Book & Video Collection

eBooks for ESOL

Our EBSCOhost eBook collection includes a variety of books with Lexile® levels to help gauge the difficulty of the reading level. You can access the whole eBook collection or limit your search to a specific Lexile range.

EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Over 16,000 e-books. Many are downloadable.

Some of our print books

102 Simple English Conversation Dialogues for Beginners in American English: Gain Confidence and Improve Your Spoken English by Jackie Bolen
Call Number: 428.34 Bo638o
Publication Date: 2021
A variety of authentic dialogues to improve your American English conversation. Common idioms and phrases are included in each practice exercise and dialogue.
College the American Way: A Fun ESL Guide to English Language and Campus Life in the U.S. by Sheila MacKechnie Murtha; Jane Airey O'Connor
Call Number: Adult Education - Basement ; 428.24 Mu969c
Written in a fun, lighthearted, and easy-to-follow style, this book is THE resource for international college-bound students who want to improve their English language skills.
Dangerous English in a Changing World: An Indispensable Guide for Language Learners and Others by Elizabeth Claire; Eluki bes Shahar (Illustrator)
Call Number: 427 CL525d
Publication Date: 2022
Differentiate language use by setting from formal, informal, slang, to children's words, and euphemisms. Pronunciation help to steer clear of unintended danger. New taboos and languages uses are covered and dangerous body language and gestures are discussed.
English for Everyone: English Grammar Guide by DK
Call Number: 428.24 En36d
Puzzled by past tenses or prepositions? Confused by comparatives? This book is packed with easy-to-follow English grammar rules and annotated sample sentence illustrated with graphics to aid understanding.
The English Grammar Workbook for Adults by Michael DiGiacomo
Call Number: Adult Education - Basement ; 428.24 Di569e
Publication Date: 2020
The English Grammar Workbook for Adults is here to help improve your writing fluency so you can gain confidence.
A New English Grammar : English Grammar by Example by Rossiter, Andew
Call Number: Adult Education - Basement ; 428.24 Ro736n
Publication Date: 2021
In this American English edition, examples of grammar usage have been selected to reflect the life and interests of readers in the United States, making them relevant to the experiences of American students or international students wishing to familiarize themselves with life and culture in the USA.
Practice Makes Perfect: English Conversation, Premium Second Edition by Jean Yates
Call Number: Adult Education - Basement ; 428.34 Ya27e
The perfect guide to conversational English--now updated with new exercises, practice dialogues, and FREE mobile access to audio recordings.

Find Books

Haselwood Library on the Bremerton campus has a special collection of books for ESOL students. This collection is called the "Adult Education" collection, and is located on the north end of the Basement level of the library.

Here you will find lots of books on grammar, pronunciation, vocabulary, and other skills like math, study skills, as well as dictionaries. Some books of the older books have CDs with them. There are chairs and tables in this section so you may stay and read if you like.

To search for books at the Library, search the Library Catalog. You can search for a specific title or author, or just search by a topic.

Streaming Videos from OC Libraries

You must sign in with your OC email and OC password to access these videos—

Rachel's English

ESOL Open Education Resources

It’s All Greek to Me! Using Authentic Readings to Improve Knowledge of the English Language and Western Culture
An open educational resource for intermediate English learners
Green Tea: Intermediate English Communication OER
Interesting topics and real-world language in an accessible way for adult English language learners at the low-to-mid intermediate level, using eclectic methods.