Research Guides: Psychology: Encyclopedias

After you choose a topic, what's the next step?

Find an overview article.

That way, you can:

Refine and narrow your topic
Discover background information
Identify keywords that will help you search for other resources
Obtain the first scholarly, citable source for your project

Reference works, particularly subject encyclopedias and handbooks, are full of overview articles and are perfect starting points for your research. Not only do you get authoritative content, you also get a recommended reading list which will lead you to other high-quality content.

Credo Reference
A great place to start your research, Credo offers Reference articles on just about any topic, and allows you to launch further article and library book searches directly from your results page.
previous link: https://search.credoreference.com/?aid=237820

Wiley Online Library
Electronic Access for Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, 4th ed.
ScienceDirect Reference Books
Use this Advanced Search page to search just within ScienceDirect's hundreds of scholarly encyclopedias.

Electronic Encyclopedias

Comprehensive Clinical Psychology by Gordon J. G. Asmundson (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2022
The book covers foundational history, professional and training issues, clinical research considerations and methods, assessments and treatments for clinical conditions experienced across the lifespan, clinical considerations for diverse populations, and emerging trends and future directions.
Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Howard S. Friedman & Charlotte H. Markey (Editors-In-Chief)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2023
Provides fully up-to-date descriptions of the neurological, social, genetic and psychological factors that affect the individual and society, including issues and topics the Covid-19 pandemic exacerbated or highlighted.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain by Jordan H. Grafman (Editor-in-chief)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2024
The ideal ‘one-stop’ resource on all topics related to understanding the human brain.
Foundations of the Mind, Brain, and Behavioral Relationships by Jahangir Moini; Anthony LoGalbo; Raheleh Ahangari
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2024
Coauthored by clinical neuropsychologists, this book is for those interested in learning about the underpinnings of the mind, brain, and human behaviors in normal and divergent functioning.
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by Jacqueline Longe (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2022
This resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

Searching the Library Catalog for Encyclopedias

Find print and electronic encyclopedias in our collection by combining your topic keywords with the word "encyclopedia" in the search bar below. EXAMPLE: "conflict and encyclopedia" You might also try combining topic keywords with words like "handbook," "dictionary," "research guide," or "companion."