Overview

To successfully direct both on AND off campus students to specific articles in library databases, you will need to provide a "persistent" link to the article that is also run through the OC "proxy server."  The proxy server is what allows us to ensure that only our current students and employees can log in to our library databases, which is a requirement of our database vendor licenses. Additionally, it funnels off campus traffic through a single dedicated IP address, thereby masking individual users' personal IP addresses, for an additional layer of data privacy.  When a correctly proxied link is given, users will be asked to sign in from off campus, with their OC email address and password. 

Read below for ways to figure out if your link will work for your students. When in doubt, email Amy Herman.

Databases with Ready-made Persistent Proxied Links

The following vendors/databases already provide you with links to individual articles that are both persistent and proxied:

• EBSCOhost databases (Academic Search Complete, CINAHL Complete, Business Source Complete, Ebsco eBooks, etc.)
  • Click on the ellipses to the far right of the article title on the results list, and select the Share option. OR if already viewing an article, select the "share" icon which is an arrow pointing to the right.  In either case, select the "Create Link" option, and then copy the link that is dynamically created.  This is the link you will give to your students. It does not need to be edited further.
• ​​​​​​​ProQuest databases
  • Select the "Abstract/Details" option for the article from the results list, or once you've opened the article. Copy and paste the "Document URL" that is listed toward that bottom of the page. This is the link you will give to your students. It does not need to be edited further.

Databases with links that need to be modified

• JSTOR
  • After opening an article result, copy the stable link under the citation information.  For example, "https://www.jstor.org/stable/26597985"
  • Paste it into the link generator on this page, and select the "Generate!" button.  The link that is generated is the link you will give to your students.

• ScienceDirect
  • After opening an article result, select the "Share" link and then select the "Email" option.  An email is generated; don't send the email, but do copy the link that is given in the body of the email. It should look like "https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1361920924003419"
  • Paste it into the link generator on this page, and select the "Generate!" button.  The link that is generated is the link you will give to your students.
• AnthroSource
  • After opening an article result, copy the link under the title/author information.  For example, "https://doi.org/10.1525/aa.1985.87.1.02a00330"
  • Paste it into the link generator on this page, and select the "Generate!" button.  The link that is generated is the link you will give to your students.