Research Guides: Assessment of Student Learning: Articles

Journals of interest

Assessment Update
Peer-reviewed journal focused on higher ed, covers information & advice on conducting assessments, including student learning & outcomes, faculty instruction, academic programs, student services, & overall institutional functioning.
Journal of Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education
International peer-reviewed journal which publishes papers and reports on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within higher education
New Directions for Teaching & Learning
Peer-reviewed journal presenting ideas and techniques for improving college teaching, based both on the practical expertise of seasoned instructors and on the latest research findings of educational and psychological researchers.

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
ERIC
Education literature from early childhood through adulthood. Covers many aspects of education, including parent education, and educational psychology, home schooling, social problems, counseling, communications, curriculum, politics, and more.

Active learning

Alternative assessment

Authentic assessment

Classroom assessment techniques

Course descriptions

Course design

Course planning

Curriculum

Education, higher - curricula

Educational tests and measurements

Grading

Grading and marking

Learning objectives

Objectives in Teaching

Performance-based assessment

Rubrics

Scoring rubrics

Standard-based Assessment

Student Learning Outcomes

Teaching - organization and administration