Research Guides: PTA Research Guide: Databases

Suggested Databases

Olympic College Libraries subscribe to a number of full-text journal databases on your behalf which you can access for FREE! These journal databases are accessible through the links below, or by going to the OC Library website by going to the library’s website (https://libguides.olympic.edu/index) and selecting the blue “Go to database list” button to view the entire list of available electronic databases. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to enter your OC campus network username and password to access the databases.

The following databases are recommended specifically for articles related to physical therapy and medicine:

CINAHL Complete
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL also includes 2 useful series: "Evidence-based Care Sheets" and "Quick Lessons".
ScienceDirect
Science Direct provides upper-division undergraduates with a collection of scholarly journals in health/life sciences, physical sciences, and social/behavioral sciences. Includes, "Physical Therapy in Sport."

PubMed
Use PubMed to search MEDLINE, the U.S. National Library of Medicine's database covering the fields of medicine and nursing. Some access to full text is available, but many are only abstracts. Click on the "Olympic College" tab in your results to see what is available in full text through our local databases.

ProQuest
ProQuest databases are useful for researching topics in almost all areas of study, e.g. Business, Science, Social Sciences, and Humanities. You can limit to "Scholarly journals, including peer reviewed."
Academic Search Complete
More than 6,300 full-text journals and magazines, including 5,700 full-text, peer-reviewed journals from a wide variety of academic disciplines.
Gale Health and Wellness
Comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Subsidized by Washington State Library
AltHealthWatch
"This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts."
Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
38,000 films "that will both educate and entertain students and researchers on a wide range of curricular subjects, including history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, political science, and more."

Paper/Print Journals
A very limited number of journal subscriptions are in print format. These are housed on the basement floor of Haselwood Library in Bremerton. Individual issues check out for 7 days, excluding the current issue, which does not check out.

Google Scholar

When you search Google Scholar from the OC campus, your results will include "Full-text at OC" links, which will take you to articles that are available through library subscriptions.

Off Campus? Configure your settings to make OC Library's holdings show up in your search results.

Go to https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings
Select "Library Links" (left)
Type in "Olympic College", check the box next to it, and Save.