Research Guides: Introduction to Literary Research: Print Resources

Books

Fiction is on the 1st floor of the Haselwood Library, and literary history and criticism is in the 800's on the 2nd floor. To search the library catalog for books, enter a few meaningful key words related to your topic.

Keywords
Broad Search	Narrower Search
"Drama"	"Medieval drama," "verse drama," "Oscar Wilde" etc.
"Fiction"	"short fiction," "mystery fiction," "science fiction," etc.
"Poetry"	"African American poetry," "poetry and authorship," etc.

As you find books, scan for new keywords in the subject headings, titles, contents etc. to improve your next search.

Print Sets of Literary Criticism in the Reference Collection

There are encyclopedias and handbooks in both the reference and circulating collection. Additionally, there is an extensive collection of criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers and philosophers in the Haselwood Library Reference Collection. Use the index in one of the later volumes to look up your author or work.

Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) Reference - 1st Floor, 809 Co767L
Literary Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC) Reference - 1st Floor, 809 Li712g
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Reference - 1st Floor, 809.034 Ni622g
Poetry Criticism (PC) - Reference - 1st Floor, 809.1 Po752g
Shakespearean Criticism (SC) - Reference - 1st Floor, 822.33-E Sh15g
Short Story Criticism (SSC) - Reference - 1st Floor, 809.31 Sh81g
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Reference - 1st Floor, 809.04 Ga131t
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) Reference - 1st Floor, 809 Di561m

An electronic version of these sets is available through the Kitsap Regional Library Literature Resource Center Database. Sign up for a KRL library card online here.