Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Calculus &amp; Pre Calculus

Full Courses

MIT - Single Variable Calculus
This calculus course covers differentiation and integration of functions of one variable, and concludes with a brief discussion of infinite series.
more...less...
This course has been designed for independent study. It includes all of the materials you will need to understand the concepts covered in this subject. The materials in this course include:

Lecture Videos with supporting written notes
Recitation Videos of problem-solving tips
Worked Examples with detailed solutions to sample problems
Problem sets with solutions
Exams with solutions
Interactive Java Applets ("Mathlets") to reinforce key concepts
MIT - Multivariable Calculus
This course covers differential, integral and vector calculus for functions of more than one variable.
more...less...
These mathematical tools and methods are used extensively in the physical sciences, engineering, economics and computer graphics.The materials have been organized to support independent study. The website includes all of the materials you will need to understand the concepts covered in this subject. The materials in this course include:

Lecture Videos recorded on the MIT campus
Recitation Videos with problem-solving tips
Examples of solutions to sample problems
Problem for you to solve, with solutions
Exams with solutions
Interactive Java Applets ("Mathlets") to reinforce key concepts
MIT - Differential Equations
This course focuses on the equations and techniques most useful in science and engineering.
more...less...
This course has been designed for independent study. It provides everything you will need to understand the concepts covered in the course. The materials include:

Lecture Videos by Professor Arthur Mattuck.
Course Notes on every topic.
Practice Problems with Solutions.
Problem Solving Videos taught by experienced MIT Recitation Instructors.
Problem Sets to do on your own with Solutions to check your answers against when you're done.
A selection of Interactive Java® Demonstrations called Mathlets to illustrate key concepts.
A full set of Exams with Solutions, including practice exams to help you prepare.
Calculus Courses & UMass Boston
providing mathematics majors with high quality programs; by offering high quality courses to majors in the sciences and to others who need mathematics in their field of study and research; by educating those students whose primary interest is not in a field requiring the highest level of mathematics by offering high quality quantitative reasoning and general education courses; by working on the frontiers of mathematical research in fields of interest to our faculty.

Videos

MIT - Gilbert Strang Video Lectures
Highlights of Calculus is a series of short videos that introduces the basics of calculus—how it works and why it is important. The intended audience is high school students, college students, or anyone who might need help understanding the subject.
more...less...
The series is divided into three sections:

Introduction

Why Professor Strang created these videos
How to use the materials
Highlights of Calculus

Five videos reviewing the key topics and ideas of calculus
Applications to real-life situations and problems
Additional summary slides and practice problems
Derivatives

Twelve videos focused on differential calculus
More applications to real-life situations and problems
Additional summary slides and practice problems
Kahn Academy Precalculus short videos
Kahn Academy Differential Calculus
Kahn Academy Integral Calculus
Kahn Academy Calculus I
Kahn Academy Calculus II
Kahn Academy Multivariable Calculus

Books

Precalculus I
Precalculus I is intended as a first semester course for college-level precalculus students.
more...less...
Included, you will find all of the content that might be covered in any first semester precalculus or college algebra course.
Precalculus II
This text includes topics in trigonometry, vectors, systems of linear equations, conic sections, sequences and series and a light introduction to limits and derivatives.
Precalculus: An Investigation of Functions (2nd Ed)
Precalculus 1 covers families of functions, their properties, graphs and applications. These functions include: polynomial, rational, exponential, logarithmic functions and combinations of these.
more...less...
We will solve related equations and inequalities and conduct data analysis, introductory mathematical modeling and develop competency with a graphing calculator.
MIT Calculus - Gilbert Strang
Textbook, Instructor's Manual, Study Guide, Resource Materials
Libre Text Precalculus
Active Calculus 2.1
In Active Calculus - Single Variable, we endeavor to actively engage students in learning the subject through an activity-driven approach in which the vast majority of the examples are completed by students.
more...less...
Where many texts present a general theory followed by substantial collections of worked examples, we instead pose problems or situations, consider possibilities, and then ask students to investigate and explore. May be downloaded free as a PDF or you may purchase a copy
Libre Texts for Calculus
The LibreTexts libraries are Powered by MindTouch® and are supported by the National Science Foundation under grant numbers 1246120, 1525057, and 1413739 and the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions, and Merlot.

Games, Activities & Supplemental Material

MIT Exam Prep - Calculus