Research Guides: Nursing Research Guide: BNURS 350 Professional Writing for Nurses

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

Remember you can use a filter in OneSearch and CINAHL/MEDLINE from EBSCOhost so your search results will be from academic journals.

Almost every article in PubMed is peer reviewed so you will not find that filter.

Making Sense of a Scientific Journal Article

Know the Science: How To Make Sense of a Scientific Journal Article from NIH: National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health

Transcript for How to Read a Scholarly Article

Getting Started with Nursing Research

Welcome!

This page is designed to highlight library information and support for students of BNURS 350.

My hope is that our time together and these resources will help you search effectively in CINAHL and MEDLINE from EBSCHost as well as PubMed. I want you to have a basic understanding of levels of evidence, peer-review, and tools that can help you make sense of a journal article. Lastly, I want to share some help for APA citation.

Menu tabs will take you to other pages of this guide to connect you to:

Background Information

Books & eBooks

Articles

Primary & Secondary

Evidence-Based Practice & Resources

APA 7th Edition

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)

Heal WA

Tutorials for PubMed and for CINAHL/MEDLINE from EBSCOHost

CINAHL Complete Tutorial- Finding Evidence-Based Practice Articles in CINAHL

CINAHL Help Sheet for searching - Creating a Basic or Advanced Search

CINAHL/MeSH Tutorial- Using MeSH in EBSOhost

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) Tutorial- Advanced Medical Searching

PubMed Tutorial- Find Articles on a Topic

PubMed Advanced Search Tutorial- Using the Advanced Search Builder

PubMed Help

Highlighted Databases for EBP Nursing Articles

CINAHL Complete
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL also includes 2 useful series: "Evidence-based Care Sheets" and "Quick Lessons".
MEDLINE
"MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals."
PubMed
Use PubMed to search MEDLINE, the U.S. National Library of Medicine's database covering the fields of medicine and nursing. MEDLINE indexes over 4,000 journals from more than 70 countries. Some access to full text is available, but many items appear in summary form, i.e. abstract, only. This particular link to PubMed is customized for Olympic College, and it enables users to link out to full-text articles that we purchase through ScienceDirect, EbscoHost and ProQuest.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides an extensive collection of books and journals in health/life sciences, physical sciences, and social/behavioral sciences.

APA Citation

Here are some of the most useful APA Citation links-

Sample Papers- APA Style Guidance

APA 7th Edition Handouts and Guides

Zotero Bib
ZoteroBib is a free AND ad-free citation and bibliography tool. One of the most accurate citation generators but you still need to check and correct citations.

BNURS350 slides

BNURSE 350 Slide deck
Research orientation including CINAHL
2024 PubMed, etc. slide deck
Resources from the National Library of Medicine.