Research Guides: Nursing Research Guide: Books & eBooks

Books- useful for your research?

While journal articles offer you the most up-to-date research, books can be valuable resource for understanding what is recommended by experts interpreting research into evidence based practice.

Books & eBooks of Interest

Beyond Burnout in Nursing: Overcoming Stress in Nursing & Healthcare for Optimal Health by Suzanne Waddill-Goad
Call Number: 610.73 Wa117b
Publication Date: 2023
New strategies and up-to-date, data-driven information for building resilience and practicing self-care so that nurses and other healthcare workers can navigate their increasingly challenging environment while reducing stress and preventing burnout.
Core Competencies of Civility in Nursing & Healthcare by Cynthia Clark
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 610.73069 CL547c
Publication Date: 2022
Evidence-based strategies and solutions to foster civility and healthy academic and practice environments at both the individual and organizational levels.
McGraw Hill's Complete Medical Spanish, Premium Fourth Edition by Joanna Rios; José Fernández Torres; Tamara Ríos
Call Number: 468.3421 Ri479m
Publication Date: 2021
Covers skills to interact with Spanish-speaking patients and their families. Through sample dialogue, exercises, and more than 200 illustrations, this program will help you master a Spanish vocabulary of more than 3,000 key terms; confidently interview patients, conduct exams,and prescribe medications.
Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-Roth
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
a full-color portable nursing drug handbook that makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs that nurses administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled in the text — including 20-30 new entries for drugs and drug therapies recently approved by the FDA.
Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice by American Nurses Association
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 610.73021873 Am35n
Publication Date: 2021
The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of nursing. The standards provide authoritative statements of the actions and behaviors that all registered nurses are expected to competently perform, regardless of role, population, specialty, and setting.
Nursing Diagnosis Manual: Planning, Individualizing, and Documenting Client Care by Marilynn E. Doenges; Mary Frances Moorhouse; Alice C. Murr
Call Number: eBook
Identify interventions to plan, individualize, and document care. Here's the resource you'll turn to again and again to select the appropriate diagnosis and to plan, individualize, and document care for more than 850 diseases and disorders.
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice 5th Edition by Janie B. Butts; Karen L. Rich
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2023
This book has been revised to reflect the most current issues in healthcare ethics including new cases, laws, and policies. The text continues to be divided into three sections: Foundational Theories, Concepts and Professional Issues; Moving Into Ethics Across the Lifespan; and Ethics Related to Special Issues focused on specific populations and nursing roles.
Pharmacology: A Patient-Centered Nursing Process Approach by Linda E. McCuistion; Kathleen Vuljoin DiMaggio; Mary B. Winton; Jennifer J. Yeager
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 615.58 Ma139p
Publication Date: 2022
A clear guide to pharmacotherapy and safe drug administration, this book uses drug prototypes to provide need-to-know information about key drugs, including dosage, side effects, interactions, and more. Nursing Process summaries enhance your skills in clinical judgment and patient care.
Jarvis' Physical Examination and Health Assessment by Carolyn Jarvis; Ann L. Eckhardt
Call Number: 616.0754 Ja298p
Publication Date: 2024
The most widely used, authoritative, complete, and easily implemented learning solution for health assessment in nursing. This hub of a tightly integrated learning package continues to center on Jarvis's clear, logical, and holistic approach to physical examination and health assessment across the patient lifespan.
Quality and Safety Education for Nurses, Third Edition by Patricia Kelly (Editor); Beth A. Vottero (Editor); Gerry Altmiller (Editor)
Call Number: 610.73071 In8v
Publication Date: 2023
The chapters and the contents of this edition align with new domains of the AACN accreditation standards.
Reading Research: A User-Friendly Guide for Health Professionals by Barbara Davies; Jo Logan
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor ; 610.72 Da286r
Publication Date: 2022
A clear introduction to reading and understanding research articles, with practical guidelines for implementing research into clinical practice. It describes how to interpret common research methods including qualitative, quantitative and mixed-method approaches, and explains how to find relevant, reliable research on the internet.

Search the Library Catalog

Advanced Search | Database List A-Z | Journal List A-Z | My Account

Should I use OneSearch or individual databases?

Databases with eBooks

ProQuest eBook Central (Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Collection)
Over 18,000 librarian-selected eBook titles covering Asian Studies, Women's Studies, Black Studies, Hispanic/Latino Studies and much more.
EBSCOHost eBook Collection
Over 17,000 eBook titles from across the disciplines, includes reference works and scholarly books.
ScienceDirect
Extensive collection of journals, academic books, and academic encyclopedias in health/life sciences, physical sciences, and social/behavioral sciences.