OC logo
Libraries Home Start Researching Subject Guides Services About Us
Skip to Main Content

Services

Study Room in the Haselwood Library basement

Study Rooms for Students

  • Rooms may be reserved by students who need space for individual or group study, or who are meeting with tutors.
  • Except for Rooms 001 and 005, these rooms are reserved using the sign-up sheet on a clipboard outside the room.
    • Room 001 may be reserved by phone (360-475-7250) or in person at the Check-out Desk.
    • Room 005 is a contemplative space and cannot be reserved. Use is limited to 30 minutes. Patrons who need access to the collection may enter the room at any time to access the books.
  • Students may opt to share a room with others by using signs provided for that purpose. 
  • Room reservations will be held for ten minutes past the reservation time. After ten minutes, others without reservations may use the room.
  • Reservations are limited to two-hour intervals with a maximum of two hours per individual/group per day. 
    • If individuals or groups reserve more than two hours, the reservation/group will be removed by staff.
    • If a room is not reserved, the space is available on a first come, first serve basis.  
  • Keep your personal property with you. Unattended items will be collected by library staff or Campus Safety. 
  • Five of the study rooms may only be reserved by groups;  001, 004, 008, 009, and 013.  

study room with a table and 5 chairs

  • Smaller rooms, like 006 pictured below, are ideal for individual study.

a small room with a white board and small round table

Special Equipment and Collections

  • HL 001

 Outfitted with media equipment, this room has priority as a student group viewing room for audiovisual purposes.  Students who need to use the equipment have priority over other student uses.  This room may be scheduled through the Library’s Check Out Desk.

room with a teacher's station, collaboration table, and display screens


  • HL 004

This room holds the George Martin Mountaineering collection. It is available for reservation as a group study space. Students who need access to the collection may enter the room at any time to use the collection. Students using the room for other purposes must allow this access.

room with bookshelves, white board, table and 4 chairs


  • HL 005

This room holds the Thomas Graham Collection. It is not available for reservation. It is a contemplative space. Students who need access to the collection may enter the room at any time to use the collection.  Students using the room for other purposes must allow this access.

small room with a book shelf and 4 padded, wooden arm chairs


  • HL 009

This room offers a large conference style table that can seat 8-12, two white boards, a display screen, and DVD player. A cable is available at the Check-out desk to connect to a laptop.

long conference table with a white board, display screen on the wall and DVD player