Research Guides: Nursing Research Guide: Articles

Getting Started/Getting Help

Check out some answers to FAQs on our Troubleshooting Guide.

Popular Databases

CINAHL Complete
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL also includes 2 useful series: "Evidence-based Care Sheets" and "Quick Lessons".
MEDLINE
Similar to PubMed, this version of MEDLINE may be searched simultaneously with CINAHL in the EBSCOHost platform
PubMed
Use PubMed to search MEDLINE, the U.S. National Library of Medicine's database covering the fields of medicine and nursing. MEDLINE indexes over 4,000 journals from more than 70 countries. Some access to full text is available, but many items appear in summary form, i.e. abstract, only. This particular link to PubMed is customized for Olympic College, and it enables users to link out to full-text articles that we purchase through ScienceDirect, EbscoHost and ProQuest.
ScienceDirect
You can limit your results to Nursing and Health Profession results using the Subject filter in the left sidebar.

Finding Nursing -Specific Articles in CINAHL

Tutorials

Resources to help you search databases effectively!

CINAHL Tutorial, by EBSCO Connect
A tutorial to get you started with the basics of searching.
PubMed Tutorials
Tutorials for quick learning or more in-depth details depending on your need.
ScienceDirect Tutorial
Advanced searching tutorial to guide in effective searching using ScienceDirect

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the full text of an article?

Use Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loans can take up to two weeks but usually arrive within 5-10 days.

Limits on requests - In order to provide free and timely service to all our patrons, please be as judicious as possible in submitting requests. If you are requesting more than five (5) ILLs at a time, please contact a library faculty for assistance.

More databases...

AltHealthWatch
"This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts."
BioMed Central
"BioMed Central publishes 265 peer-reviewed open access journals"
Health Source Consumer Edition
Nearly 80 full-text, consumer health magazines covering medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Not for medical professionals.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Nearly 550 scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences
For students researching topics in psychology, sociology, anthropology, education, family service, criminal justice, and nursing.
Science.gov / Science.gov Alliance
"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results."

Google Scholar

Connect Google Scholar to the OC Library databases!

Go to:

Google Scholar Settings
1. Select "Library Links",
2. Use the search box to find Olympic College, and check the box to select
3. Then [save]