Research Guides: Anthropology: Journals

Recommended databases for anthropology journals

AnthroSource
Full text articles from 15 esteemed publications of the American Anthropological
Association, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, etc.
See the sub-tab above for more info on searching Anthrosource...
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes historical full text articles in many disciplines including Anthropology, often with a 3-5 year embargo (you can’t access full text for the most recent 3-5 years). Titles include Anthropological Quarterly, Anthropology Today, Cultural Geographies, Current Anthropology, Journal of Anthropological Research, Practicing Anthropology, etc. Also included full-text books.
Academic Search Complete
Includes over 100 full text anthropology related journals, including Anthropology in Action, Journal of Anthropology, Anthropology Today, History & Anthropology, Journal of Northwest Anthropology, Visual Anthropology, etc.
ScienceDirect
Extensive collection of journals, academic books, and academic encyclopedias in health/life sciences, physical sciences, and social/behavioral sciences.

Specific journals in other databases (mainly for use in ANTH 350)

Human Organization (journal)
Use this link to go directly to the journal, Human Organization. Once logged into the journal page, look for the search bar labeled, "Search within this publication," or browse a specific issue by date.
International Journal of Business Anthropology
Use this link to go directly to the journal, International Journal of Business Anthropology. Once logged into the journal page, look for the link labeled, "Search within this publication," or browse a specific issue by date.

Advanced Search tips

Words matter! As you do your research, keep a running list of possible search terms (synonyms, broader terms, narrower terms, related terms) you find. Some authors might use one term to describe a concept, while other authors might use a different term depending on the publication date or place of publication.

Examples:

Yup'ik OR Eskimo language

"Day of the Dead" OR "Dia de los Meurtos"